Update – College Bound!

10987640_10206152962132677_3972700119596260365_nI have not posted on this blog in some time…  but, wanted to share some good news and let anyone know that AC is doing GREAT!  And he was recently accepted to RIT!  = )    We are VERY excited for him.  RIT is a GREAT school, and happens to also be local for us.

I am actually an employee of the University of Rochester, and originally was sort of pushing to get my son, Aaron, to go to college there. Then, we went to an NTID/RIT Open House last fall, and we were just blown away. We knew right away that RIT would be a better fit for Aaron, and not just because of his hearing loss (although having NTID and so many others who can relate is a huge plus!).  We were so impressed by the staff there, and the college in general, that I have no doubt that this is a great choice for AC.  

It is so hard for me to believe he is graduating high-school this year.  He took all AP classes the last few years, and was still involved in sports and a number of activities.  He was always main-streamed, and truthfully he seemed fine with that.  Still, after years of being the only kid in his classes that wore hearing aids, it will be quite different for him to go to a college where there is such a high percentage of other kids that are Deaf and/or dealing with some level of hearing loss.  RIT also offers the major that he was interested in – Statistics – and, is just a top-notch school.  We are very proud of AC, and very excited for what the future may hold.

If anyone else is looking into college…  and especially if your child is Deaf or has a hearing loss –  you should look into RIT / NTID:  http://www.ntid.rit.edu/    =)

3 Responses

  1. I’ve followed you since my son was first diagnosed almost 7 years ago, and I’m very happy for AC! I’ve heard great things about RIt, and am looking forward to when my son (also HAs, also mainstreamed) wants to go there for camp in a couple of years. Thank you for sharing!

    • Awww. Thank you, Ren. Very nice of you to say so. It really is a great school. I’ll try to check back in & keep you posted. Hope your son is doing great! :-)

    • The camps at RIT are amazing. I highly recommend them! When I went, I met a ton of people with similar interests and the instructors are great.

      Best of luck!

Leave a comment